152. The Farmer’s Market

Something that is important to a lot of people here in Syracuse is the Support Local initiative.  It’s important to support the local economy, and especially important to see small businesses thrive in our fine city through community support!

the Regional Market

One of my favorite (favorite!) things to do, especially when the weather is nice, is to go to the Farmer’s Market at the Regional Market. On a typical Saturday morning throughout the months of June-August (mostly), you can see me following behind my parents as I patiently wait for them to offer to buy me some fruits and veggies…the perks of living in the same city as your parents for 100, Alex.

regional market

The majority of the vendors hail from local farms, selling their fruits and veggies and meats and cheeses and products, etc etc… at an affordable price. I love talking to the people who work the stands, they’ve been doing this for a long time, they’re familiar with what sells fast…they’re honest and hardworking…and I really appreciate that. Last year, I found the most delicious hummus at a stand…and this year, I’m on a mission to find it again!

The Farmer’s Market at the Regional Market is open Thursdays from 7am-2pm (May-November) and Saturdays 7am-2pm (year round).

Tip: My suggestion? Get there early…lots of the best stuff goes fast…this place really picks up by 10am.

location: 2100 Park Street, Syracuse, NY 13208

Leave a Reply

